Just Drive

I saw the sea today.

Briefly, I mean. I saw it from a distance as we explored the safari park, and even though I loved the reserve, my mind kept wandering to the sea. It was beautiful today, at least from that distance, crisp and blue and inviting.

As we left the safari reserve and drove back London way, I felt a sad type of longing seeing the road signs for the Channel Tunnel and the European car number plates. It felt so odd on this beautiful sunny day to be driving back towards an incredible yet draining city instead of towards the inviting, quaint, tiny villages of the French countryside.

Europe is calling me.

I sat in the car, falling asleep, dreaming of spontaneous trips to the continent that I am so wary of, yet love so deeply, and with a promise to myself to take as much adventure into my life as I can.

Leave a Reply

