A Day Trip to York

On 1st July, (the day after this first time experience) I finally got to visit a place I’ve always wanted to visit: York!

I started the day with an early start in Doncaster, and after breakfast at the hotel, I was in York by 8.30 am. My favourite thing to do when I’m in a new place, especially if it’s early morning or late afternoon, is to walk around and get a feel for the place. I initially walked around the Minster area to make sure I got to see York Minster and it was beautiful.

S2930015S2930009

I went into the cathedral as it opened and was astounded at how amazing it was. I love going into old churches and cathedrals, especially Gothic cathedrals and they feel completely different to any other place I visit. I felt quite emotional in the cathedral and I can’t quite pinpoint why. I loved visiting the cathedral, and I can’t wait to go back.

After visiting the cathedral I went to the tourist office to catch the City Sightseeing tour. I wanted to see as much of York as I could, as I only had about seven hours there, so the bus tour allowed me to see so much. I also got a live guide as we were going around, so I heard so many historical facts and funny stories.

After the hour long tour, and feeling satisfied that I had seen a lot of York, I walked along part of the city walls before spending a few hours walking around the city centre. I got to see the Shambles, a market and even heard a brass band!

I knew for my last stop I wanted to go to a museum, and I wanted to see the Yorkshire museum, but as I had my little carry on I couldn’t go in. I then decided to go to York’s Chocolate Story as I had no idea how important confectionery was to the town. I really enjoyed the museum. It was reminiscent of Bruges’s Choco-Story at the beginning but completely changed into the history of York’s sweet past. I thought it was really interesting. I’m glad I went there and I even got to make a chocolate lolly! Then started the long trek home to London…

I had such a brilliant time in York and I can’t wait to go back.  It also felt really good to tick somewhere off of my UK bucket list. Now to plan my next UK trip!

Leave a Reply

