A Day at the Races

Today I had a really busy day! It was only on Tuesday that these plans were made, which is very last minute for me and I wasn’t quite sure about how this day would turn out, but it turned out alright!

The day started early as I made my way to Kings Cross station to go to Doncaster with work. After a McDonalds breakfast, I realised that I had gotten there nearly an hour early. I took this opportunity to finally take my pictures at Platform 9 and 3/4!

I would really recommend this if you’re around Kings Cross; although I took my pictures at 8.15am and the queues do get quite long, the staff are so lovely and the queues usually move quite quickly. I had a lot of fun with this.

After these photos I went to Doncaster and had a quick meeting at work before we all left to get ready to go to the races. I’ve never been before and I decided to take this opportunity to see my colleagues again. Before we left, however, we had around an hour’s break. During this time, after unsuccessfully trying to check into my hotel, I decided to go for a walk around Doncaster, as I haven’t really had the chance to explore it.

IMAG1070

While I was exploring, I came across Mansion House, and luckily for me, it was a free entry day! The Mansion House is the previous residence of the Mayor of Doncaster and was initially built as a place to hold royal and noble celebrations in the town. It is beautiful and I wish I had taken pictures inside, but I was pushed for time. I had a great tour guide called Richard who told me many interesting stories, and I’d love to come back and see it properly!

My last stop of the day was at Doncaster Racecourse! As I said earlier, I’ve never been before, so I had no clue what to expect. I had quite a good time in the end. We watched eight races, five of which I betted on and I won twice! I didn’t win a lot of money but I made some back. We also were treated to a three course meal by my company, and it was delicious. Who doesn’t like free treacle tart?

Today has been long, but also quite good. I got a lot done today, which I kind of didn’t expect. Bring on tomorrow!

One Reply to “A Day at the Races”

Leave a Reply

