A Sequel to Unbreakable and Split?!

There will obviously be spoilers for Split in this post.

Unlike a lot of people I know, I really enjoy (most of) M. Night Shyamalan’s work. I even worte a chapter of my dissertation about Unbreakable, as it’s one of my favourite films. As we all know, Shyamalan had been having a dark period in his filmmaking, but over the last few years with The Visit and then Split, I thought he had gotten past that spell.

In the last couple of days, Shyamalan revealed that in January 2019, he will be releasing a sequel to Unbreakable and Split. And while a lot of people are excited about this, I’m not convinced this is a great idea.

I thought Split worked really well as it’s own film, and the tie in to Unbreakable also worked. I immensely enjoyed them both, and I think they’re two very well executed, clever films. They also work very well on an analytical level, which I’m planning to look at on my YouTube Channel. The main issue I’m worried about a sequel to these films is that it will most likely involve a confrontation between Mr Glass, David Dunn and Kevin, which is the logical way to go with this film, but it doesn’t seem to go with the way Shyamalan writes his films. I feel that it will come off as forced, especially nearly 20 years after Unbreakable came out, and I don’t want it to fail or be perceived badly, mostly for Shyamalan and his repuation, but also because I love these films.

Lastly, I feel badly because of this because it will form an Unbreakable extended universe, which comes across as a copy of the Marvel Cinematic Universe and DC Cinematic Universes. To me, it therefore comes off as more of a cash grab than making a film for the sake of it, which surprises me. I suppose, realistically, I’m just worried about how this film is going to turn out, although I look forward to watching it.

Leave a Reply

