How to Plan a Trip Away

I’m really into travel blogs. I want to travel a lot, but I don’t get to travel as much as I want, so I live out my daydreams by reading a lot of blogs. As I’m planning a few international trips soon, I decided to give some tips for planning a trip away. These tips are more Euro-centric, as I mainly travel within the UK and Europe, and they are only tips, so you may decide to plan in different ways.

There are three things you need to book.

  1. Travel. If you are booking plane/train tickets, do these immediately for the dates you need. It’s better to have the tickets and book maybe a different hotel if needed, than to book the hotel and then not have a way to get there. At this stage you may need to acquire visas etc, although some countries, such as Japan, offer these on arrival.
  2. Accommodation. Once your actual travel plans are set, it’s time to book the accommodation! Remember to check whereabouts the hotel/hostel/Airbnb is in regards to the location you are visiting; is it walkable to attractions, or will you need to drive or take public transport? Are there things included in the price, such as free wifi,parking or breakfast?
  3. Insurance. This is one of the most important things in my opinion and I don’t see this stressed enough. Even if you think insurance is an unneeded expense, it’s best to buy it in the horrible event that you get ill or lose luggage.

These three things are the basis of what you need for your holiday. After booking those things, it then makes sense to book any advance tickets, reservations or tours, or you may want to keep it spontaneous, like I’m doing on my next trip in March!

Holiday planning can be stressful, but it can alternatively be really fun! By booking these three things in this order before booking anything else you can take a lot of the stress out of planning.

Have fun planning and enjoy your holidays!

Leave a Reply

