22

Today is my birthday. I’ve just turned 22. 

This morning I woke up, had a few presents with family before they went off to school and work. I worked at home for a bit, did some errands and when my sister came home early we watched most of a film before my parents and nan got home. We had dinner, watched some tv and ate cake before nan went home and we cleaned up. It was an okay, not unpleasant, but somewhat boring. It was nice though. 

But lately that’s what I’m thinking my life is turning out to be. Okay, but boring.

Reflecting back on 21, I didn’t really do much. December is overshadowed these days by bad memories that my family can’t let go of, and 2016 kicked me.  Uni ended and with that I seemed to stagnate in my personal life, and while my job is great for what I want to do right now, I felt trapped by working at home. But I’ve had enough now. I’m not living like this anymore. 

22 is going to be the year of self development. 22 is going to be the year I utilise the nomadic element of my job and explore the UK and more of the world. 22 is going to be the year I get myself out there and push myself. 22 is going to be the year I fight for the little girl I used to be who had all those big dreams, and for the teenager who saw them slipping away and for the now young adult who is fighting to get them back. 22 is the year I prove to myself I can be more than that I was told I was going to be. 22 is the year I start to make dreams happen, and the year I actually commit to that. 

I know I’ve said it before, but I’m not living like this anymore. I refuse. I am not throwing away my shot!

One Reply to “22”

Leave a Reply

