A Lesson in Spontaneity

This is an entry for the Surprise Trips competition.

I am a planner. I love to plan things. I have hours and hours worth of planning for each individual creative project I am working on, I have pages of notes taken from books I didn’t  use for each university essay I ever wrote, and when I go on holiday, I plan everything to the finest detail. I don’t  do spontaneity well at all, but this is something I am desperately attempting to change.

This is why I love the concept of Surprise Trips so much.

Surprise Trips is a company that allows you to go on a short holiday (up to 4 nights) at a budget you can decide. This pays for your flight and hotel. The catch is that you have no idea where you are going until two hours before you fly, and then it’s up to you!

I’ve loved the idea of Surprise Trips since I found about it a few months ago, and I’m planning on doing one as soon as I possibly can! The main reason I’m so drawn to it is the spontaneity angle. As I’ve mentioned, I’ve always been someone who plans extensively, and I feel that maybe I sometimes use ‘the excuse’ of my anxiety disorder to get out of something I’m not sure on doing.

There are no excuses here. There are no plans here. This kind of holiday is the definition of spontaneity, and probably the kind of holiday you won’t need a holiday to recover from!

Somewhere along the way, I feel like a lot of people, including myself, have lost the real reason of travel; to enjoy yourself and relax, and to open yourself up to new experiences. Surprise Trips seems to embody this ideal, and it’s one I want to get lost in.

 

This post was not sponsored by Surprise Trips.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

