Script Update: Draft 2

The date is 16th October 2016. The time is 5.20 pm (at writing) and as of 20 minutes ago I have finished the second draft of my screenplay.

It was nowhere near as difficult to edit the script or to write new scenes as I thought it would be. I had nightmares of staring at my script for days on end with no inspiration, and while this edit definitely was difficult, I was able to imagine how new or rewritten scenes would further the plot line and characterisation.

The biggest issue with this edit was my health. Work happened to really ramp up for me during this time, and I was also experiencing a few optical and mental issues. I work freelance over the internet, so I spend a lot of time staring at a computer screen, which usually is fine for me as I naturally find it easier to write or edit longhand. However, due to the severe headaches I was getting, I couldn’t afford to spend a lot of time straining my eyes with a computer screen if I wasn’t working. Luckily, I got my optical issue looked at and my headaches improved significantly, which meant I was able to start working on the screenplay again. Honestly, this was probably a bit of an excuse, as I could have written more out longhand, but I was more concerned with these issues going on at the time. Thank god they’re finally resolved!

Overall, I’m pretty happy with where the script is right now. I did think when I finished the first draft that the film should be a feature, but now I’m again not sure. I’ve sent it to a friend for feedback, as I’m struggling with a few issues in the script, but it’s looking a lot better for draft 2 than I actually expected. I’m not allowing family members to read it yet, but I am talking over issues with them, and they are asking what the long term plan is for it!

This script is nowhere near perfect yet, and there is a hell of a lot of work to do yet, but it’s really getting there, and I am so happy with how it is going so far.

Leave a Reply

