Today has been a Good day

Today has been a good day.

Last week I wrote a blog post about the dilemma of creativity and how I was struggling with being creative after being medicated for a year. I’ve been working on a screenplay for about a year now, and today I had my best day writing it ever.

I hand write everything, so originally I decided to dedicate the day to typing up pages upon pages of handwritten script. After it was all typed, I just couldn’t stop. I’ve worked on the screenplay for nearly the whole day and I couldn’t feel better. I feel fulfilled, like this is what I’m supposed to do. I think that’s because it is.

I broke the rules, drifted from the outline and in doing that came up with bigger disruptions, better conflicts and more satisfying resolutions. I have so many ideas that I can’t write down fast enough, and links and parallels between those tiny bits of script that would not work.

Of course the script has a hell of a lot of work still to go. It’s still in its first draft, and unfinished. It’s still way too short, and I know I’m going to be writing scenes to add into it come edit time. I know this feeling will pass and I’ll struggle again, and writing will seem like a chore.

But I’m completely okay with that. I am happy. I am inspired.

I am a writer.

Leave a Reply

