Breadxit-My take on the GBBO Scandal

I blooming love the Great British Bake Off.

It’s one of my favourite things to watch. It’s a sweet (pun), non anxiety provoking show that I can watch with all the members of my family and we can all have a laugh. As a baker myself, not only do I enjoy the show but I also am frequently inspired by it.

My heart sank a little when I heard the Great British Bake Off was moving from the BBC. 

While I’m still glad the show will be on television, the show will definitely be different. The atmosphere will definitely be different without Mel and Sue, who are both the best thing since sliced bread (pun), and to be honest, I can’t see Mary Berry defecting from the BBC. I’m worried some of the kitschy charm will be lost from the show, and selfishly, if new judges are setting Technical Challenge recipes, I’m worried I won’t be as inspired by the show as I was before.

That being said, I will still watch it. I think it’s unfair to betray a show that I genuinely love and look forward to each year because of a channel and personality change. Although somewhat unhappy at this new era for Bake Off, I will try to keep my judgements until I watch the next series, no matter when that will be. 

P.S. Yes, that picture is of homemade bagels that my ex housemate and I made while watching old reruns of Bake Off.

P.P.S. I am also aware that this is the most pretentious thing to complain about ever, and that I have so many other things to worry about, personal and politically, but godammit let me complain about my beloved Bake Off in peace. 

Leave a Reply

